Demon’s Kiss review

Back page Blurb:

Even by vampire standards, Reaper is a loner, and his current mission to destroy a gang of rogue bloodsuckers is definitely a one-vamp job.  Then fate takes a hand, and before he knows it, he’s surrounded by a ragtag crew of misfit helpers:  the newbie, the princess, the shape-shifter and the human healer.

Seth is new to immortality, but he’s sharp and strong–and he’ll risk anything for the rogues’ strange female captive, a secretive creature he doesn’t understand but feels compelled to save.

Vixen is confused by the emotions that swirl through her at the sight of her impulsive hero.  She only hopes the brutal Gregor and his bloodthirsty renegades will leave her alive long enough to explore them.

Or will Reaper himself be the one to destroy them all?

My Review

I’ve actually seen and heard about this book a lot- seen it in the bookshelves, been told that it is a “must read for fans of Charlaine Harris and Sherrilyn Kenyon” both of whom I worship, and finally picked it up from the library, only to be disappointed.

The story was stretched is what I felt after reading it. I loved the sci-fi portrayal of the vampires in it at first, sort of reminded my of the Sookie Stackhouse books in a different manner. I liked the start of the book, and the introduction of Reaper, Seth and Vixen. Then onwards, there was some kind of a downhill slope to the whole book. I didn’t like most of the story and felt the plot lacked direction, I didn’t like the writing that went from good to okay to mediocre to excellent in jumps and starts that left me unable to form an opinion about the writer and I didn’t like the cover.

THE COVER!

I know some people loved the cover, but honestly…it looked sort of like something a self taught PS lover could have come up with any day, using a few lightning pictures and some random guy who fit the description of “good-looking broody dude”. It didn’t capture the energy of the book. It didn’t scream “pick me up, pick me up, pick me up” the way some books do. It wasn’t true to the book, wasn’t true to its spirit.

THE PLOT and CHARACTERS

It was just barely okay.  Perhaps the problem of the book was the Bond-movie kind of narrative. The women were all way too gorgeous (okay, I get it is about vampires, but can they be a little less tight clothed and over enthusiastic?) and the language was a little too vulgar for my taste. I like a little cussing in books, its fun. Bad language and bad descriptions are DIFFERENT. I couldn’t bond with most of the characters as the narrative simply skipped from one person to another. I couldn’t get why the villain was so awful (other than the fact that he uses a poker). He sort of seemed stupid and slow to me. Again, is this sci-fi or paranormal? I don’t know. Because I couldn’t find time to fit into the scenario of the book, or identify with a character.

Reaper, I felt, was the high point of the book…but in some parts where he was supposed to be scary, I just got the impression of a lumbering big guy. He would have been a great character, if he’d been described a little better.  Seth was enjoyably loud-mouthed and had the perfect balance of heroism and immaturity that felt fresh in a character from a book belonging to the paranormal genre. Roxy reminded me so much of some other character…I can’t place her yet, but I will, and was described like a Bond movie gone wrong again. Vixen was all right, Topaz was some sort of an emotional thundercloud, Jack was pretty well characterized and Briar…I loved Briar’s darkness, one of the main reasons I got through the book. Another thing I loved about this book was the pace. If anything, at least the book moves.

All in all, I wish there had been better characters and a narrative that settled on one or two characters’ point of view. A slightly better plot would have been welcome. There was no why should I care factor in it for me.  The cover was deprecating, character descriptions often depressing.

What I loved: Briar, and Seth. To an extent the character of Reaper. A few character introductions.

What I hated: Cover, language, under-done descriptions, shifting third person narrative, no why should I care factor.

Rating on 5 hearts:          ♥♥

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s