Mockingjay Review

AMAZON :

Against all odds, Katniss Everdeen has survived the Hunger Games twice. But now that she’s made it out of the bloody arena alive, she’s still not safe. The Capitol is angry. The Capitol wants revenge. Who do they think should pay for the unrest? Katniss. And what’s worse, President Snow has made it clear that no one else is safe either. Not Katniss’s family, not her friends, not the people of District 12. Powerful and haunting, this thrilling final installment of Suzanne Collins’s groundbreaking The Hunger Games trilogy promises to be one of the most talked about books of the year.

MY REVIEW: (Spoiler Alert)

As with the last installment of every series, my excitement was enormous pre-release of Mockingjay. The book wasn’t just a last installment but the final book of my absolute favorite young adult series, written so masterfully and carried out with a Harry Potter like secrecy. Usually, I feel much like a deflated balloon after reading the last installment of any book. It’s disappointment…because the book isn’t as satisfying as what I wanted it to be. But for once- for ONCE- I am actually satisfied with the way Mockingjay turned out.

Perhaps the most important thing in the book for me at least was the fact that Katniss doesn’t change into some kind of super girl out on a noble cause even after she agrees to become the Mockingjay. She’s still the Katniss we know and love, the one who questions herself and her motives at intervals, the one who considers herself unworthy of so much attention and sometimes even finds herself doing things she couldn’t imagine herself doing.

From the start of the book, Collins takes us on a ride- I had my hands pressed to my mouth as surprises after surprises rained down….at the end of every chapter, it seemed, my heart would nearly burst with the suspense. From the rigor of District 13 and Coin’s domineering hand to the terrifying arena the Capitol becomes at the close of the book, I couldn’t take my eyes off my eReader’s screen.

We learn more about Gale, and I found his brutality rather surprising at times although I guessed he’d hate the Capitol enough to be thus antagonized.

The cruelty of the Capitol itself is relentless…at some parts of the book you wonder how it can possibly end in a note of hope or happiness…the vicious cruelty that is stripped bare for all of Panem to see itself makes this book, as some say, impossible to put down.

There is even more action in MJ than in HG or CF, the first two books, and some rather sweet and sensitive scenes…especially with Katniss trying to reconstruct Peeta’s memories after he’s “hijacked” and tortured by the capitol. (I found Peeta the most lovable, memorable and enigmatic character again, I just LOVE him) I found the thing with Katniss and the pearl (oh, the pearl!) even more endearing.

Collins touches some heartstrings with the Hanging Tree…what verse, and what wonderful concept! I also found myself cheering for Beetee and the rebels…with all that techy breaking into the Capitol’s network thing. And my best MJ moments? At the very end….at Prez Snow’s execution (J)…when Katniss says “If we burn, you burn with us”…when Peeta asks “You’re still protecting me, Real or not Real” and she says “Real”…the Hanging Tree…there are so many.

All in all, MJ was almost everything I wanted. Everything I dreamed the HG 3 would be (with the exception of how Gale turned out…people may argue with me, but I can’t forgive him. Only, I wished some people didn’t have to die…right after being lulled into some security. Poor Finnick. Poor Prim.)

….lots of action, breathlessness and a ride worth taking if you are thrill seekers extraordinary. Oh, and Team Peeta won.

Katniss Everdeen, the girl who was on fire, burns on.

Rating: 4.9/5.0 !

2 thoughts on “Mockingjay Review

  1. Interesting take on this issue. I for 1 have seen a lot of twists on this and can typically spot the holes within the arguement nonetheless, on this occasion I belelive your writing is such that every person must be in agreement with this. Thank you for sharing it with us.

Leave a Reply

